The Sorrows of Young Werther

I’m about in the middle of The Sorrows of Young Werther by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (free at Feedbooks). I swear, Werther is the original emo kid. I’m an awful person and left my poor Guy in my mom’s car so I can’t finish until I get home later and I can’t post any of the quotes that I’d highlighted. I definitely like Sorrows, although I can’t really imagine receiving letters like this and actually… enjoying them.

By the way, I LOVE the highlight function. I used to Post-It the hell out of my books and if I didn’t have any around I’d resort to dog-earing and underlining (with pencil, as much as I can) but that’s just so sad for my books! This way I don’t feel like I’m butchering my books! Also I like being able to type little notes… I remember in the Introduction to Sorrows there’s a reference to Sturm und Drang, which, being as unknowledgeable as I am about German literary and musical movements, I had never heard of before – but I immediately connected it to “Durmstrang” from The Goblet of Fire. Oh, bully for you J.K. for making an oblique literary reference that most of your readers would never catch!

2 responses to “The Sorrows of Young Werther

  1. Kindle will highlight and you can mark passages in a books as well…..plus notes?
    I think I’m starting to officially feel the pangs of jealous. Time for me to cough up some kindle dough and get my hands on one~~
    Rebecca

Leave a Reply

