A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man

This is going to be super short as I’m still on break and have pretty terrible Internet connection in rural Maryland. I’m almost done with A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man by James Joyce (free at Feedbooks). I have to say, I was really into it at first until I got into Chapter Three which I thought was terribly dull. I feel bad because I feel like I’m supposed to like Joyce, and in theory I love Portrait because I think it’s great how he chronicles a man’s life from really young childhood and the language progresses as he ages, but really… a little too much religious uncertainty for me! I mean I’ve dealt with religious uncertainty with my own life, as many others have, and I’m sure it was a greater deal for someone like Joyce, in Ireland nonetheless, but I was a little sick of it. I’m just pushing myself through the rest of it. I was planning on reading Ulysses next but I think I’d rather read something less heavy next.

Leave a Reply

