The Amber Spyglass

I’ve finally finished the His Dark Materials trilogy with The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman. I can’t really say much without giving away a lot, but I think it’s great. I don’t mind much that it’s a story that questions the authority of the Church; in fact I don’t think it necessarily means that Pullman is trying to disassemble the entire structure of society or anything of the sort. I think it’s more the idea of questioning authority just because it SAYS it’s authority, whether it’s religion or government or some other sort, and this surprisingly comes into play on more levels than we expect in the series.

Anyway, the idea is that this is the last of the battle that Lord Asriel wages against the Authority, with armoured bears and witches and humans and angels and little people taking sides. There’s this prophecy about Lyra that tells that she’s at the centre of all of it, but I can’t tell you why! All I can say is that I could not have imagined this on my own.

One response to “The Amber Spyglass

  1. I’m glad you finished it and enjoyed it! I think it’s a pretty amazing world and twist he was able to novel together. An extraordinary mind and writer.
    Rebecca

Leave a Reply

