Advertising 2.0: Social Media Marketing in a Web 2.0 World

That’s right, I’m reading a book for school. Imagine that! It’s weird, I rarely read entire books for coursework because most of my classes are Diplomacy and we read more articles and parts of textbooks than we do whole books. Same goes for my Spanish and French classes, except for the semester I took Twentieth Century French Literature. Anyway, I’m reading a few books for my thesis and luckily I’m able to save a few bucks by buying these books for the Kindle 2. They’re mainly books about Internet technologies and the like so they’d better be available for the Kindle or else I’m calling foul!

First is Advertising 2.0: Social Media Marketing in a Web 2.0 World by Tracy L. Tuten. The main thesis as far as I understand from what I’ve read so far is that advertising is a whole new game because of the Internet, especially because of the new Web 2.0 technologies. Clearly this is the sort of stuff that interests me, since I chose to write my thesis on it, but I think it’s something that people should know about if they want to succeed, even if it’s for personal success or for advocacy purposes. I’m writing about how Web 2.0 technologies can help non-governmental organizations in their efforts, focusing on human rights NGOs. I think it’s a super efficient, totally legitimate way of spreading information and encouraging grassroots action, comparing NGO work to the political and business models of “campaigning” and “marketing”. So far I think this book is probably a great resource for my thesis!

P.S. That’s why I was asking about Kindle citations earlier! And it seems a lot of people are looking for answers too because a lot of people reached my blog by searching for “kindle citations”!

Leave a Reply

