M-Edge still behind on orders

I forgot to mention that I ordered M-Edge Prodigy covers for Guy and Ford Prefect, especially since you get 10% off and free shipping if you order more than one off Amazon. Now, that’s a pretty good deal. But for a cover that I’m not especially excited about, seeing as how I adore my Lollington sleeve, I’m pretty annoyed at how long it’s taking. I ordered on March 10, and my credit card has been charged, even though my estimated delivery date is still April 6-14. I have a tracking number for USPS but it only says that the USPS has been notified to expect the shipment, which doesn’t really tell me anything.

Plus, their website now says that the light will be available for pre-order in late April. It was originally late March 2009. Now I can’t claim to know what it takes to redevelop a book light, but from a business viewpoint, I think they’ve spent way too much time developing an accessory that a lot of people might feel is somewhat necessary. A lot of people would just move on to another brand rather than wait for an easily substitutable product. If I hadn’t already bought the M-Edge covers I’d have just gone with the Mighty Bright, since they’ve been ready and shipping for several weeks already. (Although, why would you make black the standard colour for an accessory to a white product? Aesthetics 101.)

Anyway, the same goes for the cover – people who ordered the Prodigy covers a long time ago have received them, but it seems they’re struggling to keep up with the sudden demand when the Kindle 2 was released. It’s been an entire month now, and for a necessary accessory (a Kindle 2 should not be without a cover, I promise you) they’ve taken far too long. Take me, for instance, I’ve already bought another product and love it, so if the M-Edge Prodigy doesn’t make the birds sing and the sun shine, I’ll probably return it. As much as I love M-Edge’s customer service.

Leave a Reply

