Online Kindle Notes & Highlights

I woke up to a sweet little email about Kindle’s new online feature. Now you can access all your notes & highlights by simply logging in on your Amazon account at http://kindle.amazon.com. All your purchased content (so nothing from Feedbooks or anything you made yourself, just your Kindle store purchases) are listed. You just click on each book and all of your notes & highlights are there, with locations and everything.

While it’s not terribly useful to me, I think that on the rare occasion that I quote something from a book it’ll be so much more convenient than having to hook up the device to my computer, open up the txt file “My Clippings” and scroll down until I find the quotation I wanted. (Actually it would have been useful while I was writing my thesis and using Kindle books for sources… but I’m done and won’t really be writing papers for a while now.) Or perhaps since it’s so much easier I might start posting quotes more often!

Like this lovely one from Atonement!

Finally he spoke the three simple words that no amount of bad art or bad faith can ever quite cheapen. She repeated them, with exactly the same slight emphasis on the second word, as though she had been the one to say them first. He had no religious belief, but it was impossible not to think of an invisible presence or witness in the room, and that these words spoken aloud were like signatures on an unseen contract.
(Location 1892)

Yes, I think I like it! New goal: post more quotations!

Leave a Reply

