My Sister’s Keeper

I power-read My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult last night. It’s about a thirteen-year-old girl Anna who hires a lawyer to sue her parents for medical rights to her own body. It’s a well-known fact that the reason her parents went through the trouble of genetically engineering her to be a perfect match to her older sister Kate, who was diagnosed with a rare form of leukemia. So as Anna and Kate grow up Anna has to give Kate her cord blood, platelets, bone marrow… until Kate suffers renal failure and she needs a kidney. It’s at this point that Anna begins the lawsuit.

It was yet another book that had me crying. I was surprised at how multifaceted the characters are, especially both of her parents and her lawyer.

This quote had me thinking about my dad who absolutely loves taking pictures of his seven children, and to a small extent about ex-boyfriends who have by now deleted or burned pictures of me but once thought them important enough to take in the first place. Anyway it describes exactly how I feel about pictures, and I think how my entire family feels about pictures too. Not everyone really seems to understand why we’re always taking so many pictures but I think part of it is just that: that we want to save every bit of happiness we’ve got because things change so quickly, and before you know it your older brother is getting married and having children and your little brother is graduating from elementary school. And it’s all so important to you because they’re your life.

A photo says, You were happy, and I wanted to catch that. A photo says, You were so important to me that I put down everything else to come watch.
(Locations 1943-1945)

Still excited for the movie, which comes out on Friday!

Leave a Reply

