Ender’s Game

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card is the titular first of the series. It’s about six-year-old Ender who is recruited to go to Battle School, where only the most intelligent children are sent to learn to fight the buggers. Ender turns out to be amazingly well-equipped to not only succeed, but to exceed expectations at Battle School, and he quickly becomes the top soldier, set to become commander quite soon.

While I’ve always read a lot of praise about this series, I’ve also seen just as many people decry the novel for its violence. I think it’s important, though, to think about our capacity for violence, and more importantly, why we engage in violence and whether we’re actually aware that we’re committing acts of violence. I think Card did well to bring these issues up.

I’ll read the rest of the series once I can actually find them! But for now I’m moving on to other books.

One response to “Ender’s Game

  1. The violence in Ender’s Game caught me off guard at first, as I’d never really heard anything about the book at all until I listened to it, but I stuck it out and ended up loving it. I’ve since listened to the rest of the Ender’s series as well as the split off Shadow series. Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

