B&N Has Free Wi-Fi

I feel like this is big news: Barnes & Noble stores now have free Wi-Fi! I remember how frustrated I used to get trying to work on papers at B&N and wanting to look something up on the Internet but hesitating to pay by the minute. I think this is quite exciting, especially because of the proper bookstores, I’ve always preferred B&N to Borders – better selection (in stores and online), better member incentives, better coupons, better store layout, better coffee (very important), and much more.

The only thing that grievously offends me is that their new ebook program, which sounds exciting enough, is only available for the iPhone/iPod Touch, Blackberry, or PC/Mac. I’m not sure if it’s Amazon or B&N that’s being all elitist about it (I’m guessing both), but I’d love it if I could get ebooks for my Kindle from more than one source. I love B&N and would love to patronize them if I occasionally find better prices there. I imagine that sometime down the road more ebook readers will be cross-compatible but I guess this is all just part of the hazards of being an early adopter.

Help us, Adam Smith!

Leave a Reply

