Multi-tasking, multi-topics

Sorry if this sounds a little bit disjointed but I’m writing this as I’m watching the U.S.-Mexico World Cup qualifier.

I’m still reading Infinite Jest!  To be fair I’ve been busy getting some play time in with my 10-week old nephew.  He’s absolutely adorable by the way and is starting to have little “conversations” with us.

But Infinite Jest is also really quite time-consuming.  It’s definitely not an easy read – Wallace has this way of just starting a discussion about a new character or situation and expecting you to figure out the background story for yourself.  It’s really disconcerting but also a welcome challenge.

This book is not a book I would recommend to someone “for a bit of light reading,” as Hermione Granger would say, but it covers a lot of interesting topics, some familiar (tennis training) and some well out of my range (drug addiction).  But I’m starting to suspect that Wallace intends to somehow make the reader a total expert in everything he discusses by the end of the novel.

For the record, I’m at 25%.

And the Azteca Stadium is really going crazy since USA just scored so if you’ll excuse me…

Leave a Reply

