Kindle for BlackBerry is LIVE!

There is nothing more exciting in my life right now than the long-awaited Kindle for BlackBerry app! (Ok, maybe there are a few things…)

For now it’s only available for U.S. customers (sorry, folks) and is compatible with the Bold 9000, Bold 9700, Curve 8520, Curve 8900, Storm 9530, Storm 9550, and Tour 9630. I have a Tour and I think it’s quite fun. Obviously the screen is teeny tiny but what do you expect from your BlackBerry? And it’s not like I expect to sit in bed and read on my BlackBerry at night – it’s for when you’re stuck waiting on some abysmal line and you don’t have your Kindle with you. In fact, I wish I’d had it yesterday when I was at the Philippine Consulate for HOURS to renew my passport! I’m glad it’s available now though because sometimes I do in fact get stuck somewhere unexpected and get a bit bored.

As for how it works, I’m not currently reading something I bought from the Amazon Kindle store but I quickly downloaded Pride and Prejudice from my archives and it’s as fast and intuitive as the Kindle and Kindle for PC. I tried taking screen captures but it looks like it’s protected against Capture It, so you’ll just have to try it out yourself. Since I’m on the Tour, I do have the trackball so I can either scroll right or down OR press Space to turn the page. To turn back a page I scroll left or up. Clicking on my Bb menu I can “Add Bookmark” OR just press “B” on whatever page I’m on. The smallest text size is quite small, but I do like reading on the second size. I think I get enough words on the page that I’m not scrolling every few seconds. The largest size is gigantor and fits about 20 words! There is also a “Full Screen” option (keyboard shortcut is “F”) that makes the page a full screen (obviously). Overall it’s exactly what I was looking for in a Kindle Bb app.

Actually, one thing I wasn’t expecting was to be able to access the Kindle Store through the app (although I don’t know why I wouldn’t have, since I already have the regular Amazon app). To be perfectly honest, I don’t buy many books, but I always like the option of doing so.

And since it’s still in beta, there’s plenty to fix. These future updates that they advertise on the website are pretty exciting:

Scrolling
In addition to page-by-page navigation, you will be able to scroll text line-by-line.

Create Notes and Highlights
Along with viewing the notes and highlights you created on other Kindle devices, you will be able to create and edit notes and highlights.

Search
You will be able to search within your book.

So it’s still missing some things that are standard to the Kindle itself, but it looks like they’re working on making that available. You can get the Kindle for Bb app by going to amazon.com/kindlebb on your device.

*cue maniacal dancing*

One response to “Kindle for BlackBerry is LIVE!

  1. Websites look fairly nice on the DX and it holds 3500 books !

Leave a Reply

