The Name of the Rose

I haven’t been reading much lately, and to be perfectly honest it’s not because I’ve been busy with classes or family or anything. It’s because Kevin got me hooked on Doctor Who, nerdiest of all shows. I started with the 2005 series with Christopher Eccleston and I’m on Season 3 now with Barty Crouch Jr., er, I mean, David Tennant. My deadline is Easter before the new season starts, so I have to get a move on!

I have been working on The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco though, and I’m really enjoying the somewhat historical background. It’s about a friar and his young assistant who are trying to solve a murder at an abbey they visit. It’s all very Sherlock Holmes and yet there’s a deeply religious theme (obviously, since it takes place in an abbey…) But despite being religious there’s a lot of secular reasoning that seems really more of an exercise than a conclusion. One gets the sense that the mental process of the investigation is as important as anything else.

3 responses to “The Name of the Rose

  1. Oh man, when I first discovered Doctor Who I was useless for weeks. I love it. Can’t wait for the new series to start.

  2. ha! I didn’t even realize when commenting that my picture is part-dalek. I’ve been using it for so long, I just forget.

Leave a Reply

